Kindle Curiosity
Neurodivergent Space Time
Morgan Harper Nichols on Creativity as Communication 🎨 Ep. 003
7
0:00
-1:12:50

Morgan Harper Nichols on Creativity as Communication 🎨 Ep. 003

Masking, Maps & Finding Belonging
7

I’m back from my podcasting hiatus and so excited to share this episode with autistic artist & poet

. We talk about creativity and its intersection with neurodivergence. It was such a great chat I completely forgot we were podcasting because Morgan was such a joy to talk to. Join us as we geek out about the things we love and our shared experiences.

Scroll down for the show notes and links to everything we mention in today’s episode.

Morgan Harper Nichols smiles at camera. She is a black woman with curly black and gray hair wearing a colorful floral top.

is an autistic artist, poet, and musician. She has published several books, including the WSJ Bestseller All Along You Were Blooming. Morgan uses a wide range of media to make her work - everything from pencil and acrylic to digital collage and 3D virtual spaces, and much more.

Website // Substack // Instagram // Books // Storyteller App


Show Notes

Read the transcription.

Subscribe via Apple Podcasts or RSS feed.


Neurodivergent Space Time is a Substack publication by artist and author Sarah Shotts. If you would like more content about creativity and neurodivergence subscribe below.


Things We Mentioned

NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month)

Ought: The Journal of Autistic Culture (articles by Morgan & Sarah in this issue)

The Lord of the Rings

The Chronicles of Narnia

The Wheel of Time (WoT fandom & The Dusty Wheel)

The Chronicles of Prydain

Tamora Pierce

Brandon Sanderson

Essence Fest

Tangle Fidget Tool


Neurodiversity Affirming Resources

I created these resources for people who want to learn more about neurodivergence, autism & sensory processing.


Some Highlights from Morgan’s Instagram

Morgan Harper Nichols on Instagram: “With every petal
that takes shape,
every stem that grows
in strength
as it bravely stretches
to the sky,
you are slowly
discovering
the full-color depth
and beauty
of the garden of your life.
Yes, there have been
long months of waiting.
Yes, there have been
early mornings spent
pulling up the weeds
of unexpected struggle,
and there has even been
child-like hope for plants to grow
that never ended up growing.
But there has also been
this soil beneath your feet.
Rain that falls from the sky.
Flowers that grew suddenly and vibrantly.
Flowers you were not even expecting.
And here you are, after everything,
learning to take it in For the soil is still alive beneath your feet,
And there is still room to witness
the growth of beautiful things. MHN”
August 20, 2023
Morgan Harper Nichols on Instagram: “What it sounds like vs. how it actually feels: words are powerful. One word can lead to one feeling for one person and completely different feeling for someone else. One phrase can be encouraging one day and the next day, it’s too complex to grasp. What I hope this illustrates is just how complex this can be, and how it’s okay. If we can’t find the right words for what we are failing maybe we can give ourselves a break. This is why the last frame in the series doesn’t have any words in the illustration: words can be incredibly powerful and so can just allowing ourselves to take time to find the right words…if we find the right words at all. ♥️ Alt text is available for each slide”
August 20, 2023
Morgan Harper Nichols on Instagram: “3 years ago this week, I released the first book in this trilogy: All Along You Were Blooming and the 3rd one comes out February 14th. Here’s a shortened version of the very long journey that led to each book. For each book, I focused on a different orientation to time as I wrote. The Past: All Along You Were Blooming (2020) Learning how to look back and recognize that for all that has happened in your life, all along you were blooming. The Present: How Far You Have Come (2021) Learning that right here, in the present moment, you are free to embrace beauty and welcome courage on this journey because you know how far you have already come. The Future: You Are Only Just Beginning (2023) Learning to look for all of the little lessons in everyday life that remind you that you have not missed out on what was meant for you and you are only just beginning. III Here’s what I was telling myself as I worked in each book… All Along You Were Blooming (2020) It may not have felt like it in the moment, but all along, you were blooming. How Far You Have Come (2021) Even if all you do is breathe today, that is more than okay. Remember how far you have come and let that be enough. You Are Only Just Beginning (2023) I have said “goodbye” many times. I have known grief for many things. And yet still, I breathe deep and believe: I am only just beginning. II This is only the beginning...hence the title of the third book! Each book has been a long, slow journey in the making and I am so grateful to all who have been a part of it. Thank you,
MHN II Alt text is available for each slide for those using screen readers!”
August 20, 2023
Morgan Harper Nichols on Instagram: “12 years ago, I started grad school in hopes to began my journey of teaching creativity. The busyness of life and finances got in the way, and of course, not knowing I was autistic and had ADHD at the time, I struggled to keep up with it all. I always wanted to go back, but I feared I wasn’t “smart” enough. I think at times being neurodivergent has a way of heightening self doubt to extraordinary levels because you’re constantly having to operate in a world that is frequently arranged differently from how you think and move naturally. So as a result, for a while, I struggling with even feeling good enough or worthy enough to apply. However, this year, I finally got the courage to apply again. I was so nervous and I spent months looking up so many programs. I ended up finding a program that felt like it was right for me and after months of working on an application (and overthinking the whole process, of course 😅) I submitted my application. I got word this month that I had been accepted into the program that was at the top of my list: the MFA in Interdisciplinary Media Arts program at Lindenwood University and I’ll start in the new year. Of course, there are many moments where we say “goodbye” to certain paths forever, but there are also these moments where we do end up choosing to revisit a journey we had started to take, but didn’t get to continue at that time. We may be at a different place now, but this current place is still a part of the journey, and we are allowed to be proud of ourselves no matter how long it took to get here. - MHN”
August 20, 2023
Morgan Harper Nichols on Instagram: “Recently, I realized why I sometimes struggle when people say I’m humble about something I’ve accomplished. I’ve had moments when something good happened or I appear surprised that I was chosen for something. In response, I’ll sometimes hear “you’re just being humble,” but I’ve recently realized that while I believe I’m humble, it’s not why I react this way in those moments. The reason is autism and ADHD. Being neurodivergent, many “normal” things are extremely difficult for me: making phone calls, FaceTimes, going to the post office or grocery store — all of these things require extraordinary preparation, effort, and recovery time. Yet, when I accomplish them, the world moves on. These are considered “normal” activities, but for me, they actually require MORE focus and attention than creating artwork. I am amazed by people in conversation who seem to intuitively know exactly when it’s their turn to speak. I am in awe of people who can answer phone calls, have 20-minute conversations, and then go and do other things after it. I’m always amazed at how some people walk through the grocery store without getting lost. And it’s not just perception, either. It is frequently not socially acceptable to move through the world differently than “most” people. This is exacerbated if you have marginalized identities and can lead to actual discrimination and harm. Simply existing in this world requires so much effort that when I do something considered an “accomplishment,” I’m often speechless. I’ve gotten used to the fact that the difficult things I do are not socially recognized as such, so when I do reach a socially accepted accomplishment, it doesn’t feel like a milestone on a country road. It’s more like passing a checkpoint in a never-ending race. What looks like humility is actually a minute-by-minute attempt at trying to make it through. This isn’t an attack on anyone who has referred to someone as humble. I’ve used the word and value its meaning for myself. And also, I believe we can examine “humility” with a magnifying glass and discover something more. Perhaps hidden behind “humility” is often a person who is simply trying to survive in this world. - MHN”
August 20, 2023

Thank you for listening to Neurodivergent Space Time. If you enjoyed this episode please share it with a friend.

Share

7 Comments
Kindle Curiosity
Neurodivergent Space Time
An experimentation in creating an unmasked neurodivergent space to discuss autism and other neurotypes from the inside out.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Sarah Shotts
Morgan Harper Nichols