Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

RSS 101

The Holy Grail of Contemporary Internet Feeds

I wrote recently about deleting the Substack app and switching to RSS.

RSS is a reverse chronological, ad free1, feed of what you choose to follow. Basically the holy grail of contemporary internet feeds.

*cue Spamalot music*

Then you asked, “But, how?”

Here is my scrappy Beginner’s Guide to RSS. I’m sure you can find better ones on YouTube, but this includes my personal thoughts on pros and cons of the apps I use.

Feedly

Net News Wire

And I walk you through how to add URLs and the trick with following Substacks.

If you have any trouble leave your question below. I’m no expert, but we can probably figure it out together.

Do let me know if you found this useful and what you think of RSS if you try it out.

Cheers,

P.S. The creative chaos that ensued while I filmed this.

1

Turns out Feedly has ads. However Net News Wire for an ad free RSS experience that has no desires to become “profitable.”

(Read: On Not Taking Money for Net News Wire.)

0 Comments
Sarah Shotts
Sarah Shotts
Authors
Sarah Shotts
Recent Posts